39 Patient 15

The Patient 15t Manual has been developed by the Alabama Medicaid
Agency to explain the policies and procedures of the Patient 1t program.
Every effort has been made to present qualified providers a comprehensive
guide to basic information concerning program requirements and billing
procedures. The policies outlined in this manual are binding upon the
provider. Providers should also refer to the HP Provider Insider as well as
any letters, transmittals or ALERTS regarding any updates or changes within
this program.

If you have any questions about this program please contact the Provider
Assistance Center at 1 (800) 688-7989.

39.1 Overview

The goal of Patient 1%t is to create patient centered, quality focused care
through a medical home by linking Medicaid recipients with a primary
medical provider (PMP). The PMP coordinates care for recipients by
providing and arranging for each recipients health care needs. Enrolling
recipients into a medical home reduces the need for recipients to seek basic
sick care services from a hospital emergency department, reduces
duplicative care and optimizes appropriate care delivery.

The Patient Care Networks of Alabama (PCNASs) are Health Homes
implemented to assist Patient 15t PMPs in coordinating care of patients with
the following chronic conditions: Mental Health Condition, Substance Abuse
Disorder, Asthma, Diabetes, Heart Disease, Cancer, Cardiovascular
Disease, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, HIV with a look back of
Medicaid claims data 18 months, Sickle Cell Anemia, and Transplants with
a look back of Medicaid claims data for five years; by connecting patients
with needed resources, teaching self-management skills, providing
transitional care, and bridging medical and behavioral services. In addition,
the PCNAs coordinate medical management meetings with the PMPs to
provide education on the health needs of the community and initiatives
based on analytical data. Currently, there are four PCNAs located in the
north, west, east, and Gulf Coast geographical regions of the state.

Patient 15! operates pursuant to an approved State Plan authority granted
under section 1932(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act. PMPs receive a
monthly case management fee per member, per month for coordinating the
care of Medicaid recipients enrolled with their practice. Direct services are
reimbursed fee-for-service.

Patient 15! can be successful only with the commitment of the provider
community. To ensure an adequate provider base, the Alabama Medicaid
Agency (Medicaid) executes provider agreements with physicians who wish
to participate in the Patient 15t Program on a continuous basis. The
physician acting as a PMP agrees to abide by all existing laws, regulations
and procedures pursuant to the Patient 15t Program and Medicaid
participation.
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39.2 Eligible Primary Medical Providers (PMPs)
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39.2.1 Enrollment

Alabama Medicaid providers who are interested in participating as a Patient
1st provider, individual or group practice, must complete and submit a Patient
15t Application Package (application and agreement) to:

HP Provider Enrollment Unit
301 Technacenter Drive
Montgomery, AL 36117

or

P.O. Box 241685
Montgomery, AL 36124

A copy of the application package is available on Medicaid’s website at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov.

The following provider types are eligible to participate as a PMP for the
Patient 1st Program:

e Family Practitioners

e General Practitioners

e Pediatricians

e Internists

e OB/GYN

e Federally Qualified Health Centers

e Rural Health Clinics

When in the best interest of a patient, a nontraditional PMP may be chosen
(e.g., children with special health care needs). Other physicians may be
considered for PMP participation if willing to meet all contractual
requirements.

A participating physician in a clinic or health center cannot work at more
than three sites and must provide Medicaid with information regarding
percentages of time spent at each site and the number of Patient 1st
enrollees per site.

The Patient 1st enrollee must be given information regarding the usual days
and hours the physician is available for scheduled appointments. If a
certified nurse practitioner or physician assistant cares for an enrollee, the
enrollee must know the Patient 15t physician responsible for supervision.
These obligations can be fulfilled through office signs, verbal instructions or
written information.
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The PMP has the option of being placed on the published or non-published
PMP list. The PMP must indicate their preference when completing the
Patient 1st Enroliment Form and will be indicated on the provider’'s monthly
PMP Enrollment Roster, under Special Conditions. Regardless of
publication, the PMP is included in the assignment process if caseload is
available and criteria can be met.

The PMP list is sent to all new Patient 15t Medicaid recipients to assist them
in selecting physicians/clinics serving their area. The PMP list, based by
county, may also be accessed via the Medicaid web site at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov. The list includes the PMP’s county of
participation, the PMP’s name, specialty, physician extenders, physical
address, and phone numbers (regular and 24 hour).

39.2.2 Caseload
The following standards apply to PMP caseloads:

e PMPs may participate in no more than 3 multiple sites; however, the
maximum panel a PMP can serve collectively is 1,200. PMPs may
specify the number of Patient 1t enrollees they will accept per site.

e Full time Physician Extenders (Nurse Practitioners and Physician
Assistants) will allow the caseload to be extended by up to 400
additional patients per extender. Only two Physician Extenders per
physician will be allowed.

e The PMPs practice must be opened a minimum of 32 hours per
week. The PMP must practice at that location a minimum of 32
hours per week to be considered full time.

e If less than full time, a percentage of a total patient caseload will be
allowed, based on availability.

Examples:

Maximum Hours Worked in Office/Clinic Maximum Recipients Assigned

32 to 40 Hours 1.0 FTE = 1200 recipients
16 Hours .5 FTE = 600 recipients
12.8 to 15.9 Hours 4 FTE = 500 recipients
9.6 to 12 Hours .3 FTE = 375 recipients
6.4 to 8 Hours .2 FTE = 250 recipients
3.2to 4 Hours .1 FTE = 125 recipients

e All caseloads will be coordinated with Medicaid through HP.

e Physician extenders (Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants)
may allow the caseload to be extended based on hours worked.

Maximum Hours Worked in Office/Clinic Maximum Recipients Assigned

32 to 40 Hours 400 recipients
24 Hours 240 recipients
16 Hours 160 recipients
12.8 to 15.9 Hours 140 recipients
9.6 to 12 Hours 120 recipients
6.4 to 8 Hours 80 recipients
3.2to 4 Hours 40 recipients
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e Only two physician extenders per physician will be allowed.
Patient 1st assignments will only be made to the physician or clinic
panel.

e Caseloads for group/clinic enrolled providers will be determined by
the number of FTEs and physician extenders associated with the

group.

If a nontraditional PMP has been assigned based on a case need, the full
time requirement will not apply.

If the PMP wishes to extend the caseload above 1200 or 2000 (with
extenders), a written request from the PMP for an extension of the
maximum caseload should be submitted in writing and must address the
following:

e The PMP's name and NPI;

e The total number of enrollees over the maximum limit that the PMP
is requesting;

e The reason for the request to extend the PMPs maximum limit;
e The length of time the PMP has been in practice in the area;
e Description of PMP's practice, individual or group;

e Other extenuating documentation and explanations that would
justify the request for an extension of the PMPs maximum caseload.

The request can be submitted at the time the Provider Agreement is signed
or at a later date by submitting the request to HP at:

301 Technacenter Drive
Montgomery, AL 36117
or
P. O. Box 241685
Montgomery, AL 36124

** A PMP’s caseload may be exceeded to accommodate sibling
assignment, newborn assignment, or assignments for previously
established patients (last PMP on file).

If the PMP wishes to decrease the number of enrollees, he/she must notify
HP Provider Enrollment in writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance of the
planned decrease in enrollees to allow for enrollee reassignment. If the
PMP wishes to increase the maximum number of enrollees within the
caseload specifications, he/she must notify HP Provider Enroliment in
writing. Such changes should be faxed to (334) 215-4298.

Individual or specific recipient additions must be submitted in writing on the
requesting provider’s letterhead and include the following information; the
provider’s name and NPI as enrolled in the Patient 15t Program, the
recipient’s name, Medicaid number and the city in which the recipient lives.
These changes can be faxed to HP at (334) 215-4140.

January 2015



Patient 1st

Any changes made to the PMP’s panel should be with the understanding
that no individuals eligible to enroll in Patient 15t will be discriminated against
on the basis of health status or the need for health care services.
Furthermore, the PMP must accept individuals in the order in which they
apply without restriction up to the limits set by the PMP and the Agency.

39.2.3 PMP Disenrollment

The PMP’s agreement to participate in the Patient 15t program may be
terminated by either the PMP or Agency, with cause or by mutual consent;
upon at least 30 days written notice and will be effective on the first day of
the month, pursuant to processing deadlines.

NOTE:

Failure to provide a 30-day notice may preclude future participation
opportunities and/or recoupment of case management fees.

A Disenrollment Request Form must be submitted by the PMP to Provider
Enroliment at HP with the disenrollment effective date. The Disenrollment
Request Form can be found on www.medicaid.alabama.gov; Provider
Enrollment; Forms for Providers; Administrative Forms. If a PMP is leaving a
group practice, then patients will be reassigned to a practitioner within the

group.

39.3 PMP Responsibilities

In order to participate as a PMP, the following requirements must be met.
Detailed information is provided on specific requirements in subsequent
sections.

39.3.1 Functions and Duties

The PMP and its group practice/clinic shall comply with all applicable federal
and state statutes and regulations, and all amendments thereto, that are in
effect when the provider agreement is signed, or that come into effect during
the term of the agreement. This includes, but is not limited to the approved
State Plan and Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

The Patient 15t PMP agrees to do the following:

e Be alicensed physician, enrolled in the Alabama Medicaid Program,
who has not been sanctioned.

e Accept enrollees and be listed as a PMP in the Patient 1t Directory
for the purpose of providing care to enrollees and managing their
health care needs through the Medical Home concept.

e Provide hospital admissions. (Refer to 39.3.2: Hospital Admitting
Privileges Requirement)

e Provide primary care and patient care coordination services to each
enrollee in accordance with the policies set forth in Medicaid provider
manuals and Medicaid bulletins and as defined by Patient 15t policy.
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e Provide or arrange for primary care coordination and coverage for
services, consultation or referral, and treatment for emergency
medical conditions, twenty-four (24) hours per day, seven (7) days
per week as defined by Patient 15t policy. Automatic referral to the
hospital emergency department for services does not satisfy this
requirement. PMPs must have at least one telephone line that is
answered by the office staff during regular office hours.

e Provide EPSDT preventive care screenings to Medicaid eligible
children age birth through 20. PMPs serving this population who do
not provide EPSDT services are required to sign an agreement with
another provider to provide EPSDT services. PMPs must retain a
copy of this agreement in their files and must ensure that their
records include information regarding the extent of these services.

¢ Maintain a unified patient medical record for each enrollee following
the medical record documentation guideline as defined by Patient 15

policy.

e Promptly arrange referrals for medically necessary health care
services that are not provided directly and document referral for
specialty care in the medical record. Provide the authorization
number (NPI) to the referring provider.

e Transfer the Patient 15t enrollee’s medical record to the receiving
provider upon the change of primary medical provider at the request
of the new primary care provider and as authorized by the enrollee
within 30 days of the date of the request. Note: Patients must
request their records be transferred to the new PMP and must not be
charged a fee for this service.

Patients must request their records be transferred to the new PMP and must
not be charged a fee for this service.

e Authorize care for the enrollee or see the enrollee based on the
standards of appointment availability as defined by Patient 15t policy.

o Refer for a second opinion as defined by Patient 15t policy.

e Review and use all enrollee utilization and cost reports provided by
the Patient 1t program for the purpose of practice level utilization
management and advise the Agency of errors, omissions, or
discrepancies. Review and use the monthly enroliment report as
required by Patient 15t policy.

e Participate with Agency utilization management, quality assessment,
and administrative programs.

e Provide the Agency or its duly authorized representatives and
appropriate Federal Agency representatives unlimited access
(including onsite inspections and review) to all records relating to the
provision of services under the provider agreement as required by
Medicaid policy and 42 C.F.R. 431.107.

e Maintain reasonable standards of professional conduct and provide
care in conformity with generally accepted medical practice following
national and regional clinical practice guidelines or guidelines
approved by the Patient 15t Advisory Group.
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Notify the Agency of any and all changes to information provided on
the initial application for participation. If such changes are not
reported within 30 days of change, then future participation may be
limited.

Give written notice of termination of the contract, within 15 days after
receipt of the termination notice, to each enrollee who received his or
her primary care from, or was seen on a regular basis.

Retain records in accordance with requirements of 45 C.F.R. 74 (3
years after the final payment is made and all pending matters are
closed, plus additional time if an audit, litigation, or other legal action
involving the records is started before or during the original 3 year
period ends).

Comply with all Federal and State laws and regulations including
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education of
Amendments of 1972 (regarding education programs and activities),
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
and the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Receive prior approval from the Agency of any Patient 1t specific, or
education materials prior to distribution.

Make oral interpretation services available free of charge to each
potential enrollee and enrollee. This applies to all non-English
languages.

Recipients can obtain assistance with language interpretation by calling the

Recipient Call Center at 1(800) 362-1504.

PMPs are prohibited from the following:

Discriminating against individuals eligible to enroll on the basis of
health status or the need for health care services.

Discriminating against individuals eligible to enroll on the basis of
race, color, or national origin and will not use any policy or practice
that has the effect of discrimination on the basis of race, color, or
national origin.

Providing materials that make any assertion or statement (whether
written or oral) that the recipient must enroll with the PMP in order
to obtain benefits or in order not to lose benefits. Materials shall not
make any assertion or statement that the PMP is endorsed by CMS,
the Federal or State government or similar entity.

Door-to-door, telephonic or any form of marketing.
Knowingly engaging in a relationship with the following:

1. An individual who is debarred, suspended or otherwise
excluded from participating in procurement activities under
the Federal Acquisition Regulation or from participating in
non-procurement activities under regulations issued under
Executive Order No. 12549 or under guidelines implementing
Executive Order No. 12549; or

2. Anindividual who is an affiliate, as defined in the Federal
Acquisition Regulation.
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Note: The relationship is described as follows:
a. As adoctor, officer, partner of the PMP,

b. A person with beneficial ownership of more than five
percent (5%) or more of the PMP’s equity; or,

c. A person with an employment, consulting or other
arrangement with the PMP for the provision of items and
services which are significant and material to the PMP’s
contractual obligation with the Agency.

39.3.2 Hospital Admitting Privileges Requirement

Patient 1st Primary Medical Provider (PMPs) are required to establish
and maintain hospital admitting privileges or have a formal
arrangement with another physician or group for the management of
inpatient hospital admissions that addressed the needs of all
enrollees or potential enrollees. If a PMP does not admit patients,
then the Patient 15t Hospital Admitting Agreement form must be
submitted to the Agency to address this requirement for participation.

A formal arrangement is defined as a voluntary agreement between
the Patient 1t PMP and the agreeable physician/group. The
agreeable party is committing in writing to admit and coordinate
medical care for the Patient 15t enrollee throughout the inpatient stay.
Admitting privileges or the formal arrangement for inpatient hospital
care must be maintained at a hospital that is within a distance of
thirty (30) miles or forty-five minutes’ drive time from the Patient 15t
PMP’s practice. If there is no hospital that meets the above
geographical criteria, the hospital geographically closest to the
Patient 15t PMP’s practice will be accepted.

Admissions through unassigned hospital-based call groups do not
meet this requirement.

Exception may be granted in cases where it is determined the
benefits of a provider’s participation outweigh the provider’s inability
to comply with this requirement.

39.3.3 24/7 Coverage Requirement

PMPs must provide enrollees with after-hours coverage. It is
important that patients be able to contact their PMP to receive
instruction or care at all times so that care will be provided in the
most appropriate manner to the patient’s condition. After hours
coverage must be available 24 hours a day every day of the year.
PMP’s can meet this requirement through a variety of methods. To
qualify as a Patient 15 provider , one of the following must be met:

The after-hours telephone number must connect the patient to the
PMP or an authorized medical practitioner.

The after-hours telephone number must connect the patient to a live
voice call center system or answering service who will either direct
the patient to the appropriate care site or contact the PMP or PMP
authorized medical practitioner. If the PMP or authorized medical
practitioner is contacted, then the patient should receive instructions
within one (1) hour.
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e The after-hours telephone number can connect to a hospital if the PMP
has standing orders with the hospital to direct patients to the
appropriate care site. (For example, if the patient’'s symptoms are such
that the patient can be seen the next morning, the hospital should direct
the patient to contact the PMP in the morning to make an appointment).

An office telephone line that is not answered after hours or answered after
hours by a recorded message instructing enrollees to call back during office
hours or to go to the emergency department for care is not acceptable. It is
not acceptable to refer enrollees to the PMP’s home telephone if there is not
a system in place as outlined above to respond to calls. Systems designed
to refer all request go physically to the Emergency Room are not
acceptable. PMPs are encouraged to refer patients with urgent medical
problems to an urgent care center.

39.3.4 Standards of Appointment Availability and Office
Wait Times

The PMP must conform to the following standards for appointment

availability:

e Emergency care — immediately upon presentation or notification

e Urgent care — within 24 hours of presentation or notification

e Routine sick care — within 3 days of presentation or notification

e Routine well care — within 90 days of presentation or natification (15
days if pregnant)

The PMP must conform to the following standards for office wait times:

e Walk-ins — within two hours or schedule an appointment within the
standards of appointment availability

e Scheduled appointment — within one hour

e Life-threatening emergency — must be managed immediately

If these standards cannot be met due to extenuating circumstances, then
the patient should be informed within a reasonable amount of time and
given an opportunity to reschedule the appointment.

39.3.5 Patient 15t Medical Records Guidelines

Medical records should reflect the quality of care received by the client.
However, many times medical records documentation for the level of care
provided varies from provider to provider. Therefore, in order to promote
quality and continuity of care, a guideline for medical record keeping has
been established by the Patient 15t program. All Patient 15t PMPs must
implement the following guidelines as the standards for medical record
keeping.

1. Each page, or electronic file in the record, contains the patient’'s name
or patient’s Medicaid identification number.

All entries are dated.
All entries are identified as to the author.

The record is legible to someone other than the writer, including the
author.

5. Medication allergies and adverse reactions are prominently noted and
easily identifiable as well as the absence of allergies.
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6. Personal and biographical data is recorded and includes age, sex,
address, employer, home and work telephone numbers, and marital
status.

7. Past medical history is easily identified including serious accidents,
operations, and illnesses. For children, past medical history relates to
prenatal care and birth.

8. There is a completed immunization record. For pediatric patients (age
12 and under) there is a complete record with dates of immunization
administration.

9. Diagnostic information, medication, medical conditions, significant
illnesses, and health maintenance concerns are recorded in the medical
record.

10. Notation concerning smoking, alcohol, and other substance abuse is
present.

11. Notes from consultations are in the record. Consultation, lab and X-ray
reports filed in the chart have the ordering provider’s initials or other
documentation signifying review. Consultation and significantly
abnormal lab and imaging results have an explicit notation in the record
of the follow-up plans.

12. Emergency care is documented in the record.

13. Discharge summaries are included as part of the medical record for
hospital admissions.

14. Documentation of individual encounters that provide adequate evidence
of appropriate history, physical examination, diagnosis, diagnostic test,
therapies, and other prescribed regimen, follow-up care, referrals and
results thereof, and all other aspects of patient care, including ancillary
services.

39.3.6 Recipient Education

Recipient education will be an integral part of the program to help the
recipients understand the Patient 15t Program system and their
responsibilities under such a system. The Agency has recently outlined in
the Patient Handbook the recipient’s rights and duties as being part of the
Patient 1st Program. All educational materials have stressed the importance
of contacting the PMP before receiving services, which services do not
require a PMP referral, and most importantly, the Recipient Call Center (1-
800-362-1504) number to call anytime there is a question.

In addition, as the coordinator of care, it is important for PMPs to be actively
involved in patient education. Patient 1t PMPs are strongly encouraged to
contact all new enrollees by telephone or in writing. New enrollees are
identified in the monthly PMP Enrollment Roster.

Providers should address the following subjects with each new enrollee:

e The PMPs requirement to provide medical advice and care 24 hours
per day, 7 days per week and the preferred method for contacting
the PMP.

e The requirement that the enrollee contact the PMP for a referral
before going to any other doctor.
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e The requirement that the enrollee must contact the PMP before going to
the emergency department unless the enrollee feels that his/her life or
health is in immediate danger.

e The importance of regular preventive care visits such as Well Child
Check-ups (EPSDT) screenings for children, immunizations, check-ups,
mammography, cholesterol screenings, adult health assessments, and
diabetic screenings.

e The availability of additional information for enrollees from the Agency.

39.3.7 Agreement Violation Provisions

Failure to meet the terms outlined in the Patient 1t provider agreement may
result in the imposition of one or more of the following sanctions:

e Alimit may be imposed on member enroliment.
e All or part of the monthly case management fee may be withheld

e The PMP may be referred to Program Integrity (PI) or Quality
Assurance (QA) Unit for investigation of potential fraud or for quality of
care issues.

e The PMP may be referred to the Board of Medical Examiners.
e The PMP may be terminated from the Patient 15t program.

Medicaid makes the determination to initiate sanctions against the PMP and
may impose one or more sanctions simultaneously based on the severity of the
contract violation. The Medicaid Legal Division may initiate a sanction
immediately if it is determined that the health or welfare of an enrollee is
endangered or Medicaid may initiate a sanction to begin within a specific
period of time. Failure to impose a sanction for a contract violation does not
prohibit Medicaid from exercising its right to do so for subsequent contract
violations.

39.3.8 Agreement Violation Appeals

The PMP is notified by certified mail of the sanction(s) and the right to appeal
the sanction. Medicaid must receive the PMP’s request for a formal evidentiary
hearing by the Medicaid Legal Division no later than 15 calendar days from the
receipt of the sanction notice. The hearing provides an opportunity for all side
to be heard in an effort to resolve the issue. The sanctioned party may
represent himself/herself or may enlist the services of an attorney or designate
a representative. The findings are documented by the Legal Division and
presented to the Commissioner who makes the final determination to uphold or
rescind the sanction. The PMP is notified by certified mail of the
Commissioner’s decision.

PMPs that are terminated from the Patient 15t program — or voluntarily withdraw
to avoid a sanction — are not eligible to reapply for a minimum of one year with
a maximum time period to be determined by the Agency. The decision is
predicated on the extent or severity of the contract violation, necessitating the
termination.
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The PMP is paid a case management fee per month for each recipient the
PMP has enrolled, as of the first day of each month. However, Federally
Qualified Health Centers, Independent Rural Health Clinics and Provider
Based Rural Health Clinics do not qualify for the case management fee.

There is no limit on the accumulation of case management fees; however,
the fees paid are contingent upon the fee components referenced in 39.4.1.
The case management fee will generally be paid on the first checkwrite of
the month. The case management fee will be automatically generated
based on Medicaid enrollment reports. Therefore, the PMP is not required to
file a claim for the case management fee. All other services provided are
reimbursed by the current fee-for-service method.

39.4.1 Case Management Fee Components

PMP’s will receive a case management fee that reflects the contractual
requirements to which the PMP has agreed. The components of the fee are
delineated below. Details on the components are provided so that the PMP
can determine whether the component can be met. This information will be
entered based on the providers Medicaid enrollment and the Patient 15t
application submitted.

Provider Type Traditional Patient 15 Patient 15t in Health
Home Areas
PMP $1.00 PMPM for providing $0.50 PMPM

24/7 voice to voice access
to recipients

PLUS

$1.00 or $1.60 PMPM -
based on the illness burden
of each physician/practice’s
panel of patients as
reflected on the Patient 15
Profiler Report. The
Profiler Report uses
Adjusted Clinical
Groupings (ACG) weights
designed by John Hopkins
University to determine the
illness burden of recipients
assigned to the provider

peer group.
PMP contracting with PCNA NA $0.50 PMPM
PLUS
$8.00 Per Health Home
Recipient Per Month
FQHC & RHC Considered to be included Considered to be
in the PPS payment. included in the PPS

payment.
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Shared Savings Performance Bonus

Additional monies may be paid to the PMPs meeting performance
measurements as defined by the Agency. The additional monies will be based
on the total amount of savings and the percentage of measures met by the
PMP.

39.5 Monthly PMP Enrollment Roster

The following report is available to PMPs to help identify and manage patients
on their panel. Effective March 1, 2010, Medicaid will discontinue printing and
mailing this report. The report can be accessed through Medicaid’s Interactive
Website.

The first of each month, the PMP can obtain a listing of pending enrollees (new
patients) that the Agency has assigned for a future date (approximately 30
days), all continuing enrollees that are the responsibility of the PMP for the
month and those enrollees that have been terminated from the provider’s
panel. The listing will include the recipient’s demographic information, Medicaid
number, assignment effective/end date, aid category, reason assigned to the
PMP, county code and review date. The enrollee status will be noted at the top
of each page as pending, continuing or terminated.

-Pending Enrollees (New) — enrollees that are new to your panel. A reason
code will be listed on the report indicating the start reason or why the enrollee
was assigned to the panel

e Continuing Enrollees — enrollees that have been previously assigned and
continue to be assigned to the PMP

e Terminated Enrollees (Deleted) — enrollees that have been deleted from
the PMP’s panel. A reason code will be listed on the report indicating the
stop reason or why the enrollee was deleted from the panel

Below is the code legend that will be listed on the last sheet of the enroliment
roster explaining the enrollees’ start/stop reason and their aid category.

Code Legends
Aid Category codes:

21 Blind-SSI-Full Medicaid coverage

30 MLIF-Child-Full Medicaid coverage

32 MLIF-Child with No Money-Full Medicaid coverage

34 MLIF- Adult-full Medicaid coverage

36 MLIF-Adult-No Money-Full Medicaid coverage

38 MLIF-Adult-No Money-Full Medicaid coverage

39 MLIF-Child-No Money-Full Medicaid coverage

3J Transitional Medicaid-Child-Full Medicaid coverage

41 Disabled-SSI-Full Medicaid coverage

46 Disabled-D.O. No Money-Full Medicaid coverage

51 SOBRA Child-No Money (<100%FPL)-Full Medicaid coverage
52 SOBRA Child-No Money (<133%FPL)-Full Medicaid coverage
54 SOBRA Child (Newborn)-No Money-Full Medicaid coverage
55 SOBRA Child-Pregnant-No Money-Full Medicaid coverage

81 Foster Care Kids (State Opt)-DHR-Full Medicaid coverage

5E CHIP Kids- Full Medicaid coverage
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Start/Stop Reason codes:

01 Not happy about the PMP assignment
06 PMP location not convenient

07 Change form submitted/no reason given
08 PMP requested recipient via letter

FN Special Handling

HI  Historical

NE Newborn

PP Past PMP

PR Proximity

Sl Sibling (Case)

AK ALL Kids

In addition, a cover sheet will be included that provides information about the
PMPs panel and will list the following:

o Region — indicates the provider is enrolled in the Statewide Patient 15t
program

o Distance — distance (radius) the provider will accept recipients.
Default is set at 75 miles

o Current Panel Size — the number of patients currently assigned to the
PMP

o Future Panel Size — the number of patients assigned once pending
enrollees become effective

o Maximum Panel Size — the maximum caseload that can be assigned

o Minimum/Maximum Age — the age range of enrollees the PMP
specified he/she wanted on their panel

) Effective/End Date — provider’s effective and end dates as enrolled in
the Patient 1t program

o Special Conditions — lists case management fee components the
provider is participating in and is being paid a case management fee

o Case Management Fee — the case management fee amount paid to
the provider based on the case management components he/she
agreed to participate in.

It is the PMP’s responsibility to review this roster every month and report any
errors to Medicaid. PMP’s must continue to coordinate care for any enrollees
who are linked to the practice, even if a change has been requested or an
error has been reported until the change or error has been resolved and
reported correctly.

The PMP should use this list to gauge caseloads, ensure service can be
provided to all enrollees, and to determine if any patients have previously
been dismissed. Pending recipients on the list are not final, as the patient will
have until the 15th of the month preceding the enrollment date to change.

NOTE:

This list is not a substitute for eligibility verification. All providers should
always verify Medicaid eligibility prior to rendering services.
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39.6 Eligible Recipients

The Agency is responsible for recipient enrollment in Managed Care
programs. Patient 15t is mandatory for most Medicaid recipients. Medicaid
eligibles that must participate in Patient 15 are those for whom eligibility has
been determined as listed below. Eligibility categories include:

e SOBRA eligible children
e MLIF and MLIF related

e Refugees

e Blind
e Disabled
e Aged

e [Infants of SSI mothers

Medicaid recipients in the above categories of Medicaid eligibility are
excluded from participation in Patient 15t in the following
circumstances.

NOTE:

Those categories with an asterisk are not automatically removed from
the program. These individuals must be reported to Patient 1st for
removal from the program. Removal from Patient 15t does not affect
their normal Medicaid benefits.

o Medicaid eligibility is retroactive only;

e Recipient is enrolled in another managed care program in which
access to primary care physician is limited (i.e., HMO);*

e Recipient is a lock-in;

e Recipient resides in a residential or institutional facility such as a
nursing home or ICF/MR or a group or foster home or DYS
(Department of Youth Services);*

e Recipients with dual eligibility (Medicare and Medicaid); and

e Recipients who have been determined to be Medically Exempt for
the Patient 1st Program, including:*

e Terminal illness — the enrollee has a life expectancy of six months or
less or is currently a hospice patient,

e Developmental delay or Impaired Mental Condition — the enrollee
does not possess the ability to understand and participate in Patient
1st( Note: This statement is not a determination of the patient’s legal
mental competence),

e Chemotherapy or Radiation treatment — the enrollee is currently
undergoing treatment (Note: This is a temporary exemption that ends
when the course of treatment is completed. If the therapy will last for
more than six months, the exemption must be requested after the
initial six-month time period during reapplication for Medicaid
coverage,
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e Continuity of Care issues (Note: A temporary exemption may be
granted to allow a Patient 15t enrollee to continue to see a non-
participating physician while the physician is in the process of
applying for participation in Patient 15t), and Diagnosis/Other — an
enrollee may be granted an exemption if there is a specific diagnosis
or other reason why the enrollee would not benefit from coordinated
care through a PMP.

e The Patient 15t Medical Exemption Request form must be
completed by the enrollee’s physician and mailed to the Patient 15t
Program, Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501 Dexter Avenue,
Montgomery, Alabama 36103 or faxed to (334) 353-3856. A copy of
the form is included in Appendix E and on the Agency's website at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov.

Recipients are removed from Patient 1! participation if they are changed to
an excluded aid category, or if they lose eligibility or change place of
residence. Dependent upon when a person becomes Medicaid eligible, they
may not yet be enrolled in Patient 1S

If you have a patient who is enrolled in Patient 15t who should not be
enrolled, please contact the Recipient Call Center at 1(800) 362-1504.

Eligibility verification indicates enrollment status and assigned PMP name
and telephone number.

39.7 Recipient Enroliment/Assignment

39-16

39.7.1 Enrollment

To facilitate enrollment into the Patient 15t Program, recipients required to
participate are assigned a PMP. Recipients have the ability to change PMP
providers on a monthly basis. Dependent upon when a person became
Medicaid eligible, they may not yet be enrolled in Patient 15t. Always verify
eligibility.

Recipients who are added to the eligibility file (refer to 39.7.2 below for
information regarding newborns) are notified of their Patient 15t assignment
approximately 30 days prior to the effective date of the assignment. The
purpose of the 30-day lead time is to allow recipients to change providers
prior to actual PMP assignment. Providers will be notified at the same time
as recipients of assignments. The assignment process takes into account
group practices and/or clinic affiliation.

The computer assignment algorithm is as follows:

e Newborn Will check for the person to be on the newborn list sent
from the state.

e Past PMP on file and Sibling cases- will be checked. If caseload
and age criteria can be met, then assignment will be made to that
PMP. Additionally, sibling cases will be checked to see if a sibling is
in the program based on payee number. If there is no payee number,
then this step cannot be considered. Siblings already enrolled or
those in the same batch will be considered. If two siblings are
enrolled and assigned to different PMPs, then the new siblings will
be assigned to the PMP of the youngest sibling.

e Historical Claims history will be considered for 18 months.

January 2015



Patient 1st

e Proximity assignment based on PMPs distance from the recipient’s
zip code as long as caseload is available and age criteria can be
met.

¢ Random assignment is predicated on lowest available caseload on a
rotating basis.

39.7.2 Newborns

Mothers of infants who will be required to participate in the program have
the opportunity to select the provider they want for their child’'s PMP prior to
assignment by the Agency. This is accomplished through the completion
and submission of a Newborn Assignment Form. These forms are available
through a variety of sources including, but not limited to, the physician’s
office, the Maternity Care Program Care Coordinator, and the hospital. The
form must be completed and submitted prior to the Agency’s assignment of
the infant. Newborn assignments may be faxed to HP at (334) 215-4140. In
order for the request to be granted, the PMP must have available caseload
for the recipient’s area.

39.7.3 Eligibility Verification

It is the provider’s responsibility to verify that a person is eligible for
Medicaid at the time of service. There are three sources available for

obtaining recipient information:

e The Provider Electronic Solution (PES) is a point of service device or
PC based software system, which accesses recipient information.

e The Automated Voice Response System may be accessed by dialing
1 (800) 727-7848 using a true touch-tone telephone. This is an
automated telephone system available approximately 24 hours a
day, 7 days a week unless down for maintenance.

e The Provider Assistance Center at HP can be reached at 1 (800)
688-7989 from 8:00 am — 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

The verification will give contact information for the recipient’s assigned
PMP.

39.7.4 Recipient Changes of Primary Medical Providers

Enrollees may request to change their PMP at any time. HP is responsible
for processing an enrollee’s change request. Enrollees can change PMPs
by calling the Recipient Call Center (RCC) at: 1-800-362-1504, or by mailing
to: 301 Technacenter Drive, Montgomery, AL 36117 OR P. O. Box 241685,
Montgomery, AL 36124 or faxing a written request to (334) 215-4298. The
Agency monitors the reasons for change as part of the program compliance
protocol.

Enrollments and disenrollments to effect a change in PMP are effective the
first of the month, following the date of the change if the request for change
is received by the Agency by the 15" of the month. If requests for changes
are received after the 15!, the change is effective the 1st of the following full
calendar month.
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39-18

If changes are not received by the 15 of the month, assurances for an
effective date for the first of the following month cannot be given. This will
allow a 5 day processing timeframe.

Please see Appendix E of the Medicaid Provider Manual for a copy of the
PMP change form that can be utilized by the recipient. Patient requested
changes are confirmed by a mailing prior to the 15t of the month in which the
change is effective.

39.7.5 PMP Dismissal of Recipient

A PMP may request to remove a recipient from his panel due to good
cause*. All requests for patients to be removed from a PMP’s panel should
be submitted in writing to the Agency and a 30 day notice of dismissal
mailed to the enrollee. The request should contain documentation as to why
the PMP does not wish to serve as the patient's PMP.

*According to the guidelines listed in the State Plan authority granted under
section 1932(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act which allows the operation
of the Patient 15t program, good cause is defined as:

e Behavior on the part of the recipient which is disruptive, unruly,
abusive or uncooperative to the extent that the ability of the provider
to provide services to the recipient or other affected recipients is
seriously impaired,

e Persistent refusal of a recipient to follow a reasonable, prescribed
course of treatment; or

¢ Fraudulent use of the Medicaid card.

Additionally, a Patient 15t enrollee may be disenrolled for nonpayment of co-
payments or an outstanding balance if this is a standard operating
procedure for the practice, is applicable to all patients regardless of payer
source, and prior written notice has been provided to the enrollee.

However, a recipient may not be charged or billed a cancelled or missed
appointment (“no-show”) fee. Refer to Chapter 6 of the Administrative Code
for further information.

The PMP is responsible for completing Form 450, “Patient 15t Recipient
Dismissal Form “ and sending a letter of dismissal to the enrollee. A copy of
the dismissal letter must be sent as an attachment to the documentation
provided to Medicaid. The dismissal letter should be addressed to the
patient and signed by the PMP. Another PMP, not one in the same group
as the original PMP, will be selected for the recipient.

Recipients will be given the opportunity to change the selected PMP before
the active assignment date. The original PMP must continue to provide
services or make referrals for services to the recipient until such time
the reassignment is complete. All reassignments will be made effective
the 1st of a month.

Dismissal requests should be faxed to Medicaid at (334) 353-3856. Form
450 “Patient 15t Recipient Dismissal Form” can be obtained on the Medicaid
website at: http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/.
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PMP Disenrollment

Patient 15! enrollees will be assigned to a different PMP if a PMP dies,
moves out of the service area, or loses Medicaid and/or Patient 15! provider
status. Such reassignment is usually accomplished by automated means.
Medicaid sends a notice to the affected recipients, telling them of the
reassignment, and the reason for the reassignment. They may then select
another PMP if the reassignment is not satisfactory.

PMP Leaves Group Practice

If it is a situation of a PMP leaving the area, then patients will be reassigned
to the remaining practitioner or group.

PMP Site Change

If it is a situation of a PMP leaving one site to open another site, the patients
will be reassigned to the remaining practitioner.

PMP Closing a Site

If it is a situation of a PMP maintaining two locations within the same
geographical area, then the patients from the closed site will be reassigned
to the site remaining open. This will apply if the PMP is maintaining a group
or clinic site or private practice site.

39.7.6 Referral Form

All referrals must be documented on the Alabama Medicaid Agency Referral
Form (Form 362) or the referral form on www.Efileshare.com. Medicaid
requires that one of these two referral forms be used for each referral
authorization given. For hard copy referrals, the printed, typed, or stamped
name of the primary care physician with an original signature of the
physician or designee is required. This means that a signature signed by
the physician’s designee, must be a complete signature, not initials.

(Alabama Medicaid Administrative Code Rule No. 560-X-1-.18 (2) (d), Provider/Recipient
Signature Requirements, Referral Forms.

For information on the Efileshare system, please contact Laura Gilmour,
Regional Sales Director at (205) 427-2262 or Igilmour@scisolutions.com.
A crosswalk for the Efileshare referral form is available at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov under Programs/Patient 15/Billing Resources
for Providers.

Referral authorization from the PMP must be given prior to patient treatment.
If given verbally, ** a written referral form, from the PMP to the consultant,
must follow within 72-hours of the verbal authorization.

The form can be obtained by accessing Medicaid’s website.
Referral Process

Coordination of care is an important component of Patient 1st. PMPs are
contractually required to either provide services or authorize another
provider to treat the enrollee while adhering to the referral process. This
applies even when an enrollee has failed to establish a medical record with
the PMP. The patient does not have to be seen by the PMP prior to a
referral being given.
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PMPs may make referrals to any practitioner that can best meet the
patient’s needs. However, every effort should be made to refer patients to
Medicaid enrolled physicians that are geographically accessible to help
facilitate the reimbursement process.

In some cases, the PMP may choose to authorize a service retroactively. All
referrals, including services authorized retroactively, are at the discretion of
the PMP. Some services do not require referral; refer to Section 39.10 of
this Chapter for more information.

In addition to Patient 15t PMP referral, prior approval (PA) - may be required
to verify medical necessity before rendering some services. PA is for
medical approval only. Obtaining PA does not guarantee payment or ensure
recipient eligibility on the date of service.

Refer to Chapter 4, Prior Approval of the Medicaid Provider Manual for
additional information about services requiring PA.

39.7.7 Comprehensiveness / Duration of Referral

The comprehensiveness and duration of the referral is determined by the
PMP and the other provider. The referral may cover one visit or it may cover
multiple visits as long as those visits are part of a plan of care and are
medically necessary. A new approval must be provided if the diagnosis,
plan of care or treatment changes.

If the consulting physician decides that the recipient must be treated by
another consulting physician (or another provider who is not the PMP), the
first consulting physician must contact the PMP for approval and
authorization to further refer the patient, unless such approval has already
been indicated on the referral form. The second provider should then use
the PMP's approval code when billing. This same procedure should be
followed for any successive referrals.

The Physician’s NPI number on the Patient 1t Referral Form must be the
NPI of the referring physician and not the NPI of the group. Providing the
group’s NPI number instead of the individual PMP’s NPI number will cause
the claim to deny.

If the Patient 15t PMP is with a Clinic/Group, then the referral number should
be the individual PMP’s NPl number and not the Clinic’s/Group’s NPI.

39.7.8 EPSDT Screening Referrals

It is not necessary to redo EPSDT screening referrals on the Patient
1st/EPSDT Referral form. If the original screener is not the PMP, then the
PMP must either sign on the original Patient 1stEPSDT referral form
(anywhere is acceptable) or issue a written Patient 15t referral. Referrals
can be for duration of up to 12 months for EPSDT referred services.
Referrals from a previous PMP may be honored for a 6 month time frame
Please refer to the Appendix A of the Medicaid Provider Manual. In addition,
screenings performed prior to enrollment as Patient 1t are acceptable as
long the PMP concurs with the findings and treatment plan.
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39.7.9 Group/Clinic Practices

Physicians within the same group/clinic and are enrolled in Patient 15t with a
group/clinic number are not required to have referrals among the group/clinic
physicians. If a group/clinic physician is covering for another PMP and a
patient requires a referral to a provider outside the group/clinic, then the
authorization number of the covering PMP must be provided to the referred
provider and noted in the chart and documented on the referral form.

39.7.10 Referral for Coverage of Non-Group/Clinic
Physicians

When a physician is providing coverage for a PMP (outside of a formal group
practice) and services are rendered to an enrollee, the covering physician
must provide the PMP with documentation as to the nature of the services
rendered and any follow-up required for placement in the patient's medical
record. The PMP must provide the covering physician with a referral
authorizing such coverage in order to facilitate reimbursement.

39.7.11 Referral for a Second Opinion

Patient 15t PMPs are required to refer an enrollee for a second opinion at
the request of the enrollee.

39.7.12 Referrals for Non-Established Patients

The Agency understands that it may be the policy of a PMP not to issue a
referral unless the patient is established. We can appreciate the need to
know a patient in order to appropriately manage his or her care. However
through Patient 1%, new patients are continually added—patients which the
PMP may not have an established relationship. If a patient who is a new
patient or one who has not consulted with the PMP requests a legitimate
urgent referral, we suggest that you issue the referral and use this
opportunity to schedule a follow-up visit. If the patient refuses to follow-up
with a visit to your office at that time, it would be appropriate to refuse
further referrals or pursue the option of dismissing the patient if behavior is
deemed to be of a non-compliant nature. See “PMP Request
Change/Dismissal of Recipient”.

Keep in mind that many of these patients have changed their PMP
assignment to the physician to whom they are currently seeing or have been
seeing in the past. For one month, the patient may be assigned to you as a
PMP. If a referral is necessary during this one month, then it can be
documented as a billing referral only.

PMP referral grants access only to service, it does not supersede benefit
limits and/or other authorization processes. Please refer to the Appendix E
for Patient 15t services that require a referral and services that do not
require a referral.
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39.7.13 Special Authorizations

There are situations in which a PMP may be requested to authorize
Medicaid services for a recipient who no longer lives in the service area,
who changes eligibility categories and is no longer in a category covered by
Patient 15, or who has changed PMPs. Examples for the most common of
these situations are given below:

Example 1

The recipient moves outside the PMP’s distance criteria and selects another
PMP. If the recipient needs medical care and his/her address has not been
changed (perhaps in the middle of the month), the provider must contact the
PMP for authorization of services.

Example 2

A child is removed from an MLIF case because he/she is now in foster care
and eligible for Medicaid under the foster care program. If the child needs
medical care during the period that his/her Patient 15t still is in effect
(usually in the middle of the month), the provider must contact the PMP for
authorization of services in the same manner as described above.

39.7.14 Referral for Billing Purposes Only

A PMP may approve a referral for billing purposes only. Such a referral
should be documented "For Billing Purposes Only" on the standard billing
referral form in the space provided under REFERRAL VALID FOR. The
billing procedure for this type of referral is the same as all other referral

types.

39.7.15 Billing for Referred Services

If a Patient 15t enrollee goes to any other Medicaid provider for
non-emergency services other than those exempted in Appendix E, without
the referral from the assigned PMP for Patient 1st services, the provider
should refer the enrollee back to or contact the assigned PMP. If the
assigned PMP authorizes the services at that time, he/she can give the
provider his/her NPI for entry on the claim form and Medicaid will pay the
claim if the enrollee is eligible and has benefits available. If the Medicaid
recipient insists upon receiving the unauthorized service, he/she should be
informed that Medicaid will not pay the claim and that the recipient will be
responsible for payment of services rendered.

A pharmacist does not have to contact the PMP prior to filling a prescription
written by another Medicaid provider, but must enter on the claim form the
license number of the prescribing physician.

For complete billing instructions, refer to Chapter 5 of the Medicaid Provider
Billing Manual.

39-22 January 2015



Patient 1st

39.7.16 Authorization Number

Access to services is authorized through use of the PMP's 10-digit NPI. To
facilitate the process, and lessen the administrative burden for the
physician, the following procedures are used when processing claims:

Step One (Billing Provider)

e The PMP NPI on the claim is compared against the PMP NPI to
whom the recipient is assigned. If they match, the claim continues
through Medicaid edits.

e The group number of the provider on the claim is compared against
the group number on the PMP file. Groups are assigned a group
number. If they match, the claim continues through Medicaid edits.
'Informal’ groups are not considered to be a group as they cannot be
identified systematically.

Step Two (Referring Provider)

e The referring PMP NPI indicated on the claim is compared against
the NPI to whom the recipient is assigned. If they match, the claim
continues through Medicaid edits.

e The referring PMP group number on the claim is matched against
the group number on the PMP file. If they match, the claim continues
through Medicaid edits.

e If the claim is for Patient 1%t coordinated services and steps one and
two do not apply, the claim will be denied with an EOB Code of
1820. An 1820 denial code means ‘Recipient enrolled in the Patient
1st Program, services require referral from PMP’.

When making Patient 15t referrals, the PMP must provide his/her10-digit NPI
to be used by the consulting provider. All PMP referrals must be in writing.
The PMP may make the referral verbally, but must follow with a written
referral to the requesting physician within a 72-hour period of the verbal
authorization.

39.7.17 Override Requests

In extenuating circumstances, on a case-by-case basis, and after thorough
review, Medicaid may determine that a referral override may be prudent in
some situations. Providers must request an override using the Patient 15
Override Request form to obtain payment. A copy of the Patient 15
Override Request form is in Appendix E of the Medicaid Provider Manual.
An Override Request Form and a clean Red Drop Ink claim form* must be
submitted to the Patient 15t Program by mail within 90 days of the date of
service. Requests will be evaluated within 60 days of receipt. Overrides will
not be approved for well visits.

All efforts to obtain a referral from the PMP should be exhausted before an
Override Request is submitted. *Refer to Chapter 5, “Filing Claims” of the
Medicaid provider manual.
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39.8 Complaint / Grievance Process

39.8.1 Filing a Complaint or Grievance

Enrollees can file complaints or grievances through the 1(800) 362-1504
Recipient Call Center or in writing by submitting a Patient 15t Complaint form
to the address indicated on the form (a copy of the form is available in
Appendix E or from the Agency). Providers can file complaints or
grievances through the Medicaid Agency at (334) 242-5010 or in writing to:
P.O. Box 5624 Montgomery, AL 36103-5624. Enrollees or Providers may
file complaints or grievances about their assigned provider or other aspects
of the Patient 1%t Program system. Medicaid’s Managed Care QA Program
will thoroughly investigate each complaint or grievance and report the
results of its findings back to the enrollee or provider. When appropriate, the
enrollee's assigned provider will be notified to document the complaint and
obtain necessary correction of problems noted. In especially acute
situations, Medicaid may use the special authorization system or various
procedure exception systems to resolve the grievance. The enrollee may
appeal the action or may request a formal Medicaid hearing. Complaints by
other providers or reports by informants are investigated similarly to
grievances.

Grievance Log

Medicaid will maintain a log of the grievances received and their disposition.
Complaints/Grievances will be "categorized” as a tool by which to assess
program impact. Complaints/Grievances usually fall into one of the following
five categories:

1. Contract violations/program policy

Professional conduct — general

Professional conduct — physical, sexual or substance abuse

Quality of care

Program fraud/abuse

a b wbd

39.9 Detall on Select Services

39.9.1 Benefits

Patient 15t enrollees have the same range scope, amount of services and
co-payments as other Medicaid recipients. There are some services that are
excluded from the Patient 15' program and do not require authorization by
the PMP. These are obtained through the same procedure as used by other
Medicaid recipients outside the Patient 1st program. It is anticipated,;
however, that the enrollee will look to the PMP for advice and/or
coordination of these services. Patient 15t enrollees should be offered the
same level of service coordination for non-authorized services as would
other patient populations.

The Patient 15t Program does not extend or supersede any existing
program benefit or program requirement. A matrix of what services do and
do not require referral follows.
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PATIENT 15T SERVICES NOT REQUIRING PMP REFERRAL

Service Claim | System Identification
Type
Allergen /Immunotherapy M Procedure Codes 95115-95199 (Administration of allergy
injections)
Ambulance M Ambulance-Ground and Air
CRNA M Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist
Certified Emergency M Any service rendered by a provider resulting from a
(0] documented certified emergency (utilize claim block 24- C
with an "E" indicator on the CMS -1500 Claim Form; utilize
claim block 73 with an "E" indicator on the UB-04 Claim
Form.)
Dental M Dentists & Federally Qualified Health Centers (Claim Type D
D only), Clinics- Children’s Dental/Orthodontia and
(@] Orthodontists, Oral, Maxillofacial Surgeons
Procedure Codes: D8080 (Comprehensive orthodontia
treatment of adolescent dentition), D8680 (Orthodontic
retention-removal of appliances, construction/ placement of
retainers), D94 30 (Office visit for obs services during regular
hours) Outpatient facility procedure codes D9420. Note: OP
facilities do not require a referral for DENTAL procedures.
Dialysis O Dialysis Centers
EEG/EKG Related M Procedure Codes: 93000-93278 (Routine ECG w/at least 12
Services (0] leads w/interpretation & report), 95805-95827 (EEG related
services)
Early Intervention Services | M Provider type 63
End Stage Renal Disease M Nephrologists
Diagnosis Code: 585.6 (End Stage Renal Disease)
EPSDT Developmental M Procedure Codes: 96110 & 96111 (EPSDT Developmental
Diagnostic Assessment)
Assessment NOTE: Other EPSDT requires referral
Eye Exams, non-medical M Optometrists Routine Eye Care/Vision exam
Procedure Codes: 92002-92015, 92313 (Corneoscleral lens)
NOTE: Ophthalmological services require referral
Eyeglass & Other Lens M Procedure Codes: 92340-92355 (Fitting of spectacles),
Fittings 92310-92312 (Prescription/fitting for contact lens-medical
supervision of adaptation)
Eyeglasses/Lens M Procedure Codes: VO100-V2799 (CMS Assignment of Vision
Services), V2020 (Standard Eyeglasses, Frames), V2025
(Eyeglasses, Special Order Frames, 92315-92317 (Corneal
Lens/Corneosclera Lens) 92326 (Replacement of Lens),
92370 (Repair of spectacles)
Factor 8 ANY Procedure Codes: J7197, J7198, J7199(Anti-Inhibitor

Coagulant Complex), J7193, J7194, J7195(Factor IX
Complex-Per IU)

M=Medical (CMS 1500)

I=Inpatient

O=Outpatient D=Dental
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PATIENT 15T SERVICES NOT REQUIRING PMP REFERRAL

Service

Claim
Type

System Identification

e Medical
e Outpatient

M
0

Medical Outpatient: Family Planning Indicator (Y) -
Procedure Codes: 58300-58301 (Insert intrauterine device),
58600 (Ligat/Trans of fallopian tubes), 58605 (Ligat/Trans
of fallopian tubes), 58611 (Ligat/Trans of fallopian tubes),
58615 (Ligat/Trans of fallopian tubes), 50610 (Initial visit),
Birth control pills, Adolescent pregnancy prevention
education, Hormonal IUD,

11976-11981 (Removal, implantable contraceptive
capsules/Insertion, non-biodegradable drug delivery
implant, 55250 (Vasectomy), 55450 (Ligation: vas deferens),
58670-58671 (Laproscopy), 57170 (Diaphragm fitting),
Depo Provera; Diagnosis Codes: V25-V2590 (Contraceptive
Management)

Glucose Test
Strips/Lancet

Procedure Codes: A4253 (Blood Glucose Test/Reagent
Strips for Home Blood Glucose per box of 50 - limited to 3
boxes per month), A4259 (Lancets, per box of 100 - limited
to 2 boxes per month), A4233, A4234, A4235 and A4236
(Replacement batteries for use with medically necessary
Home Blood Glucose Monitor owned by patient.)

NOTE: Requires prior authorization if additional strips
and/or lancets are needed.

Gynecology/Obstetrics

OB/GYN-Any service performed by this specialty is exempt
from referral requirement. Note: OP facility fees for
OB/GYN services require a PMP referral unless for Family
Planning or Maternity Services as defined herein.

HCBS Services

=

Providers of HCBS waivered services i.e. Elderly & Disabled
Waiver-ED, Homebound Waiver-EC, and MR/DD Waiver-
EE)

Hearing Aids

Hearing Aid Dealers (EPSDT only)

Hospice

Hospice

Immunizations

O |0

Administrative Fees for Procedure Codes: 90700-90748
(Immunization, Active DTAP for intramuscular use), 90633
(Hepatitis A Vaccine), 90636 (Hepatitis A&B, 3 Dose,
Adult), 90645 (HIB Vaccine), 90647-90648 (HIB Vaccine),
90649 (Human Papilloma Virus Vaccine for both male and
females ages 9-18), 90655 (Influenza, Preservative-Free),
90656 (Hemophilus Influenza Split Virus), 90657-90658
(HIB Vaccine), 90660 (Influenza Virus Vaccine, Live,
Intranasal), 90669 (Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine 7
Valent), 90680 (Rotavirus Vaccine), Factor IX Complex, per
IU, Rhogham Serum, Pneumovax 23, Pnu-Imune 23,
Fluzone, DT Toxoid, Fluzone-Subviron, Recombivax-Hep B,
Haemoph B Prohibit, Hepatitis B-Energix B, Antihemophilic
Factor

Infant Birth Diagnosis

ANY

Diagnosis Codes: V30-V3911 (Single Liveborn)

Inpatient Consults

Procedure Codes: 99251-99263 (Initial inpatient consult),
99360 (Physician Standby), 99436 (Attendance at delivery)

Inpatient Hospital

e General

e Psychiatric

e Physician Hospital
Visit

Hospital

M=Medical (CMS 1500)

39-26

I=Inpatient

O=Outpatient D=Dental
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PATIENT 15T SERVICES NOT REQUIRING PMP REFERRAL

Service Claim System Identification
Type
Laboratory M Independent Labs & Hospitals-(Claim Type OP) -
Outpatient Hospital Lab Services-Procedure codes: 36415
(Routine Venipuncture), 36416 (capillary blood specimen),
80048-89399 (Pathology & Lab Organ or Disease Panels);
Outpatient Hospital Chemotherapy-procedure codes:
96400-96549 (Chemotherapy Administration)
Long Term Care (LTC) I Nursing Homes & ICF-MR Facilities
e Intermediate Care
Facility-Mentally Retarded
(ICF-MR)
e Nursing Home
Maternity Care Program M Maternity Care Program-Primary Caregiver
Maternity Services M Diagnosis Codes: 640-67699 (Pregnancy-related)
o
Mental Health Services M Mental Health Services NOTE: Includes Community
Mental Health Centers and other providers with same
provider type. PMP notification is required for services
rendered.
Newborn Care M Procedure Codes: 54150 (Circumcision/clamp), 54160
(Circumcision /surgical),
99440 (Newborn resuscitation), 99431-99436
(History/exam of newborn),
99360 (Physician Standby)
Optometrist/Optician Optometrist/Optician Routine Eye Care/Vision exam
(Glasses/Lens do not require PMP referral)
Physicians Anesthesiologists, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeons,
Pathologists, Radiologists/Diagnostic, Nuclear Medicine
Physicians
**All other physicians require referral in any office or
outpatient setting.
Pregnancy-Related Services M Diagnosis Codes: 640-67699 (Pregnancy-related), V22-
(0] V242 (Normal pregnancy-routine postpartum f/u), V27-
I V289 (Outcome of delivery)
Preventive Education M County Health Department, Preventive Ed
Professional Component M Modifier 26; Procedure Codes: 93010
(Interpretation/Report of Cardiography),
93237 (Physician review/report), 93300-93399 (Echo)
Radiology M Independent Radiologists & Hospitals (Claim Type OP)
Outpatient Hospital Radiology-procedure codes: 70010-
79999 (Diagnostic Radiology)
M=Medical (CMS 1500) I=Inpatient O=Outpatient = D=Dental
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PATIENT 15T SERVICES REQUIRING PMP REFERRAL

Service Claim | System Identification
Type

Ambulatory Surgical (0] Lithotripsy other than physicians and centers

Center NOTE: Includes Ambulatory Surgical Centers and
Lithotripsy

Anesthesia M Physicians EXCEPTION: Anesthesiologists

Audiologists’ Services M Audiologists (EPSDT ONLY)

Chiropractor Services M Chiropractors. (EPSDT or QMB recipients only)

Clinics M Clinics EXCEPTION: Children’s Dental & Children’s

D Orthodontia (Orthodontist) Procedure Codes: 08080
(Comprehensive orthodontia treatment of adolescent
dentition), 08680 (Orthontic retention-removal of
appliances, construction/placement of retainers),
09430 (Office visit for obs services during regular
hours)

County Health EXCEPTION: County Health Department/Preventive

Department Education

Durable Medical Durable Medical Equipment-DME

Equipment EXCEPTION: L8000, L8010, L8020 and L8030.

EPSDT Screenings Procedure Codes: 99381-EP — 99395-EP Initial and
Periodic EPSDT Screenings require a PMP referral.
Please refer to Appendix A of the Provider Billing
Manual.

FQHC Services (Federally | M FQHCs EXCEPTION: Family Planning Indicator (Y)

Qualified Health Center)

Home Health Home Health Providers NOTE: Inpatient services do
not require a referral, however, discharge planning of
outpatient services (i.e. home health, DME, specialist
visits) do require a PMP referral.

Independent Nurse M Independent Nurses

Nephrology M EXCEPTION: Nephrologists-Diagnosis Code: 585 (End
Stage Renal Disease (ESRD))

Optometrist/Optician M Optometrists/Opticians/Ophthalmologists), for

Svcs /Ophthalmologists medical diagnosis.

Outpatient Hospital M Hospitals-Procedure Codes: 99281-99285, outpatient

Services (0] surgical procedures and therapies (PT, ST and OT),
observation beds and non-certified emergencies.
EXCEPTION: Outpatient Hospital Radiology
(procedure codes: 70010-79999); Outpatient Hospital
Lab Services (procedure codes: 36415, 80048-89399);
Outpatient Hospital Chemotherapy (procedure codes:
96400-96549) Outpatient facility procedure code
D9420. Outpatient facilities do not require a referral
for DENTAL procedures.

Physicians M Physicians-any billing by physicians unless the
particular provider type or service is excluded
EXCEPTION: Anesthesiologists, Oral & Maxillofacial
Surgeons, Pathologists, Radiologists/Diagnostic,
Nuclear Medicine Physicians

Podiatrists’ Services M Podiatrists (EPSDT and QMB only)

Private Duty Nurse (0] Private Duty Nurses (EPSDT only)

Psychologists’ Services M Psychologists (EPSDT only)

Rural Health Clinics M Rural Health Clinics

Therapists’ Services M Physical Therapists, Occupational Therapists and
Speech Therapists. Outpatient therapy services must
be a result of an EPSDT or for QMB recipients.

M=Medical (CMS 1500) I=Inpatient O=Outpatient D=Dental
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39.9.2 Emergency Services

Access to certified emergency services will not be restricted by the Patient
15t Program. Certified emergencies in outpatient emergency room settings
do not require referral or prior authorization by the PMP. However,
documentation should be maintained by the provider of service to support
emergency certification.

39.9.3 Certified Emergency Services

A certified emergency is a medical condition manifesting itself by acute
symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that a prudent
layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine,
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical attention to
result in placing the health of the individual in serious jeopardy, serious
impairment to body functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or
part.

The attending physician is the only one who can certify an emergency visit.
In determining whether a claim should be submitted and documented as a
certified emergency, consider the following guidelines:

e The case should be handled on a situational basis. Take into
consideration the person presenting, their medical background,
extenuating circumstances, presenting symptoms, time of day, and
availability of primary care (e.g., weekend, night or holiday.)

o Determine whether the presenting symptoms as reported would be
reasonably expected to cause the patient to expect a lack of medical
attention could result in an unfavorable outcome.

e Document why this case is a certified emergency. Documentation
does not need to be extensive but should justify the certification.

e If not an emergency, do not certify the visit. Note that follow-up care
should not be certified as an emergency (i.e. physical therapy, suture
removal, rechecks, etc.)

e Ancillary or billing staff is not permitted to certify. Certification must
be done by the attending physician.

e Children or adults brought to the ER for exam due to suspected
abuse or neglect may be certified by virtue of the extenuating
circumstances.

Hospitals and physicians who provide "certified emergency" services in the
Emergency Room (ER) are not required to have a referral from the PMP.
Please note that follow-up care should not be certified as an emergency and
in some cases may require PMP referral (i.e. physical therapy, suture
removal, rechecks, etc.).

In order for the claim not to require a Patient 15t referral, there must be an
"E" indicator in the appropriate claim block. Refer to the Chapter Five of the
Billing Manual for further instructions.

Providers should bill certified emergency services separately from those of
non-certified emergency services, which require PMP referral.

The Agency stresses the importance of coordinating with the PMPs
regarding the care of Medicaid recipients in order to preserve the continuity
of care and the "medical home" concept of the Patient 15t program.
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3994 EPSDT Services

For recipients of Medicaid, birth to age 21, the EPSDT Screening is a
comprehensive preventive service at an age appropriate recommended
schedule. It is the only reimbursable preventive medical service for this age
group. There are numerous components of the EPSDT, all of which are
required in the Federal Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis Treatment
(EPSDT) program. All age appropriate components must be performed at
the time of a screening exam. These components are listed and described
in Appendix A of the Alabama Medicaid Provider Manual.

PMP’s are requested to either perform or make arrangements for EPSDT
screenings. The PMP is responsible for ensuring that age appropriate
EPSDT screenings are provided. If a PMP cannot or chooses not to perform
the comprehensive EPSDT screenings, the PMP may authorize another
provider to perform the screenings for enrollees in the birth to 21 year age
group.

If the PMP enters into an agreement with a screener in order to meet this
Patient 1st requirement for participation, the agreement containing the
original signatures of the PMP or the authorized representative and the
screener or an authorized representative must be submitted within the
enroliment application. The PMP must keep a copy of this agreement on
file. If this agreement is executed after enrollment a copy must be submitted
within ten (10) days of execution.

The agreement can be entered into or terminated at any time by the PMP or
the screener. The Agency and HP must be notified immediately of any
change in the status of the agreement.

If there is an agreement between the PMP and a Screener to provide
EPSDT services, the PMP agrees to:

e Refer Patient 15t patients for EPSDT screenings. If the patient is in the
office, the physician/office staff will assist the patient in making a
screening appointment with the Screener within ten (10) days.

e Maintain, in the office, a copy of the physical examination and
immunization records as part of the patient's permanent record.

e Monitor the information provided by the Screener to assure that children
in the Patient 18t program are receiving immunizations as scheduled
and counsel patients appropriately if found in noncompliance with well
child visits or immunizations.

e Review information provided by the Screener to coordinate any
necessary treatment and/or follow-up care with patients as determined
by the screening.

¢ Notify the Agency and HP immediately of any changes to this
agreement.

The Screener must agree to:

e Provide age appropriate EPSDT examinations and immunizations within
sixty (60) days of the request for patients who are referred by the PMP
or are self-referred.

e Send EPSDT physical examination and immunization records within 30
days to the PMP.
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e Notify the PMP of significant findings on the EPSDT examination or the
need for immediate follow-up care within 24 hours. Allow the PMP to
direct further referrals for specialized testing or treatment.

¢ Notify the Agency and HP immediately of any changes to this
agreement.

Immunizations

Immunizations do not require PMP referral; however, the PMP must
maintain documentation of immunizations received. Documentation must
include: the date the immunization was given, the type of immunization, and
who provided the immunization. PMPs are required to ensure that
immunizations are up-to-date for children in their panel.

Providers should be aware that through Patient 15t new patients will be
assigned, many of which, will be children. These children will be looking to
the PMP for immunizations and/or documentation of immunizations,
especially in the months prior to school starting. PMPs should be prepared
to immunize these children or make arrangements to get appropriate
information from the immunizing provider to meet the school rush. ALL
PMPs SHOULD MAKE EVERY EFFORT TO WORK WITH OTHER
PROVIDERS IN THE COMMUNITY TO ENSURE THAT ALL CHILDREN
ARE FULLY AND APPROPRIATELY IMMUNIZED.

EPSDT Care Coordination

Effective March 1, 2004, the Alabama Medicaid Agency initiated an EPSDT
care coordination service available for private and public providers. The goal
of these services is to provide children with opportunities to maximize their
health and development by ensuring the availability and accessibility of
comprehensive and continuous preventive health services throughout
childhood.

Care coordination services are available for eligible children from birth
through 20 years of age at no cost to any provider who wishes to utilize
them. The Agency, along with the Department of Public Health, identifies
children at greatest risk who have potential for effective intervention. These
Medicaid eligible recipients are targeted for outreach.

The scope of services is designed to support the physician’s office
personnel in identifying, contacting, coordinating services and providing
office visit follow-up for children. Areas targeted include:

. Under utilization of EPSDT and immunization services,

e  Vision/Hearing Screenings, including Newborn hearing screening follow-up,

o Dental Screenings,

o High utilization of Emergency Room visits,

o Elevated Blood Lead levels,

) Abnormal Sickle Cell and Metabolic Screening results,
o Referral follow-up,

o Missed appointment follow-up

e  Outreach for At Risk children, and

) Teen Pregnancy Prevention Services coordination.
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In addition, care coordinators are available to assist with transportation
services. Care coordinators may receive referrals from physicians and
dentists regarding Medically-at-Risk clients who need assistance with
keeping appointments and obtaining follow-up care. Lastly, care
coordinators will encourage and assist in recruiting private physicians to
improve services to this population.

EPSDT care coordination services are available by contacting your local
county health department. Please visit our website at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov and select “Programs”, then select “EPSDT". A
list of EPSDT care coordinators by county and telephone numbers is
available to support your office personnel.

39.10 Program Enhancements

39-32

The following enhancements are designed to help the PMP achieve the
overall program goal of establishing a medical home for our recipients that
is accountable and cost-effective.

39.10.1 In Home Monitoring for Disease Management

Patients with a diagnosis of Diabetes and/or Congestive Heart Failure
(CHF) are eligible for enroliment in this in-home monitoring program. This
program is a joint effort between the Agency, the University of South
Alabama (USA) and the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH).
The goal of the program is to decrease exacerbation episodes, emergent
care visits, hospital admissions and medical costs.

Referrals for In Home Monitoring may be accepted from any source,
including physicians, Patient 15t Care Coordinators, Patient Care Networks,
patient or caregiver, the Health Department, hospitals, home health
agencies, or community based organizations. Orders for In Home
Monitoring along with the specific parameters for daily monitoring must be
obtained from the patient’'s PMP prior to evaluation and admission.

An ADPH Nurse Care Manager evaluates the patient, provides any needed
equipment including a scale, glucometer, blood pressure cuff, and phone
with a speaker. The patient data is transmitted through an automated
phone system, which may be accessed through a landline or cell phone.
The data is sent to a secure, web-based data collection and documentation
system developed by USACSHI named the Real-Time Medical Electronic
Date Exchange (RMEDE), which is monitored by the ADPH Nurse Care
Managers on a daily basis.

Alerts are generated to the ADPH Nurse Care Manager when a patient’s
data reports are outside their specific parameters. The Primary Medical
Provider or ADPH Nurse Care Manager will follow-up with the patient and
determine what services are needed.

In addition to the alert feature, the RMEDE system will generate valuable
patient data reports monthly for each PMP participating in the In Home
Monitoring Program. Summary data will also be provided to Medicaid for
monitoring the program.
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To refer a patient to the In Home Monitoring Program, contact the local
Alabama Department of Public Health Home Health Agency, or call the
ADPH Home Health State Office at 1-800-225-9770.

Enroliment: ADPH is enrolled with provider type 05 (home health) and
provider specialty 970 (disease management).

ADPH Billing Instructions: ADPH bills on a UB-04 claim form using the
following codes:

e Revenue Code: 789
e Procedure Code: G9008-U4 (ADPH Nurse Case Management)

Billing Units: 5 minutes equals one unit

39.10.2 Case Management

In regions with Patient Care Networks the PCNA will be able to assist the
PMP managing recipients with Chronic Conditions. Statewide, the Agency
partners with the Alabama Department of Public Health to provide patient
intervention services. These services will be provided through social
workers and will target patients who are identified as non-discriminate users
of the emergency room, identified by PMPs as needing educational
reinforcement and/or may have a disease state that requires extra
monitoring. It is the intention that referrals will be made by the Agency as
well as the PMP. These type services will be available statewide and
reimbursed fee for service.

Targeted Case Management for recipients with qualifying conditions is
provided by other agencies and some private providers.

39.11 Quality Assurance Activities

Quality assurance activities and program monitoring will be the
responsibility of the Medicaid Managed Care Quality Assurance Program
and the Patient 15t Program. Monitoring efforts will look at all facets of the
program including measuring the PMP against established program goals,
determining contract compliance and focusing in on program outcomes all
of which involve both administrative and performance measures.

The Profile Report (Profiler) will be the central source of data for program
reporting and measurement. This report is based on claims information and
one is produced for each PMP. The data in the report is collected from paid
claims and is processed to produce characterizations of providers, their
enrollee panel and provides comparisons of providers within a peer group.

The Profiler will have three primary components:

o Individual report cards sent to each PMP to provide activity information
and program measurements

o A summary report on all providers for use by the Agency. The
summary information will be used to monitor the program and identify
program outliers.

o Detail reports will identify program areas that need follow-up.
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Program over-site activities involve monitoring both administrative measures
and performance measures.

Administrative measures are collected using focused reviews and are not
primarily dependent on paid claims data. These measurements focus on:
e 24/7 Medical Coverage
Ensures PMPs are meeting the requirement for providing after hours
coverage to enrollees.
o Referral Report
Monitors PMP’s referral numbers to ensure appropriate usage by other
providers.
e PMP Patient Disenrollments
Ensures PMPs are not selectively dismissing patients so that
performance measures can be met.
e HP Enrollment Process

Ensures patients are linked to the most appropriate caregiver based on
patient choice, family linkage and/or historical patterns of care. This will
be aimed at internal processes.

e Complaints and Grievances

Ensures patients and providers have a consistent mechanism to
express concerns and dissatisfaction with the Patient 1st Program or
services provided through the program.

e Recipient Targeted Survey (REOMBS)
Monitors the enrollee’s health care experience in order to improve the
Patient 1st Program and identify potential problems.

e Cost Monitoring

Costs will be reviewed quarterly to ensure budget neutrality
requirements are being met, to track overall costs per recipient and to
track costs/savings.

Performance measures are primarily claims driven and focus on:

e Generic Dispensing Rate

The percentage of generic prescriptions ordered for the Primary
Medical Provider's (PMP) panel. This percentage will be compared to
the performance of their peer group and risk adjusted.

e Visits Per Unique Enrollee

Average number of visits per recipient seen by the PMP. The PMP’s
expected visit rate will be computed by weighting the performance of
the PMP’s peer group. The measure will compare the PMP’s actual
visit rate with their expected visit rate.
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e Number of Emergency Room Visits

Will identify PMP’s that are not providing care to recipients for which
they are receiving a case management fee but whose members are
instead seeking care in the emergency room. This information may be
used by the Agency to reassess the PMP’s continued participation in
the Patient 15t Program.

e Number of Hospital days per 1000 patients

Will identify effective management of recipients by the PMP outside the
hospital setting, especially those with chronic conditions. This is
expected to result in improved patient outcomes and Agency savings.

e Percent of Asthma patients with one or more ER visits with the
primary diagnosis of Asthma

This is a quality measure aligning Patient 1st with established “Together
for Quality” (TFQ) measures. It will identify providers who are effectively
managing recipients with Asthma.

e Percent of Diabetic patients who have had at least one HbAlc test
during review period

This is a quality measure aligning Patient 1st with established “Together
for Quality” (TFQ) measures. It will identify providers who are effectively
managing recipients with Diabetes.

e Age appropriate EPSDT screenings for 0-5 year old population

This will identify providers who are performing age appropriate EPSDT
screenings. This reinforces early treatment and prevention while
reinforcing the medical home concept.

The Agency must ensure all requirements of the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) are met; therefore the above list of measures is
not inclusive and may be modified.

39.12 Obtaining Forms / Educational Materials

Patient 15 forms may be obtained by accessing the Medicaid website.

Educational materials are also available for use by providers and may be
obtained using the online ordering form on the Agency’s website at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov. A catalog listing these materials is also on the
website.

Some materials available for download from the website include:

“Your Guide to Alabama Medicaid”. This 36 page booklet describes the
services covered, co-payments, the different types of eligibility, patient
responsibilities, as well as other useful information.

“Alabama Medicaid Covered Services and Co-Payments” (English or
Spanish). Describes services covered by Medicaid and associated co-
payments.
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“EPSDT Brochure”. This is a colorful pamphlet that encourages Well-Child
checkups and outlines the periodicity schedule.

“Are you expecting a baby?” This full colored brochure lets pregnant women
enrolled in Medicaid know who to contact for prenatal care in their county of
residence.

39.12.1 Medicaid Forms

The following forms can be found in Appendix E and/or on the Medicaid
website www.medicaid.alabama.gov under Programs/Patient 15t

Immunization Record

Alabama Medicaid Agency Referral Forms
EPSDT Documentation
Complaint/Grievance Form

PMP Change Form

Newborn PMP Request Form

Request For Educational Material

Patient 15t Override Form

Patient 1st Medical Exemption Form
Patient 15t Recipient Dismissal Form

39.13 Patient 15t Billing Instructions

Refer to Chapter 5, Filing Claims, for general claims filing information and
instructions.

To bill for a service that requires a Patient 1t referral, the billing provider
must have a valid signed referral form in the recipient’s medical record. This
form should contain the PMP’s number to use for billing.

39.14 Contact Information Summary

39-36

For general Patient 15t billing questions or to request an application package
call the Provider Assistance Center: 1 (800) 688-7989

To increase the maximum number of enrollees within a caseload the
request may be faxed to HP Provider Enroliment: (334) 215-4298 or mailed
to HP Provider Enroliment, PO Box 241685, Montgomery, AL 36124

To change distance criteria or disenroll from the program the request may
be faxed to HP Provider Enrollment; (334) 215-4298 or mailed to HP
Provider Enrollment, PO Box 241685, Montgomery, AL 36124

To obtain recipient information on eligibility, benefit limits, or coverage call
the Provider Assistance Center: 1 (800) 688-7989

Automated Voice Response System: 1 (800) 727-7848

To address program and policy questions, for individual or specific recipient
additions or deletions, for recipient language interpretation services or to
report patients enrolled in Patient 1st who should not be enrolled call the
Recipient Call Center: 1(800) 362-1504

Patient 1st forms may be requested on Medicaid’s website at
www.medicaid.alabama.gov.

Newborn assignment forms may be faxed to HP at (334) 215-4140.
Patient dismissal requests may be faxed to Medicaid at (334) 353-3856.

For written correspondence to the Agency: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501
Dexter Avenue, P.O. Box 5624, Montgomery, AL 36103-5624
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